Barre's first public library was founded on donations from Samuel Gates in 1857. Quarters were shared with the Post Office until the Barre Library Association was established to create a free public library in town. Barre native Henry Woods donated the building named for his family. Construction was started in June 1886, and the library opened to the public on August 1887. From 2000 - 2001, the library underwent renovation and expansion and held a grand reopening on July 2001.
TRUSTEES, STAFF, VOLUNTEERS, POLICIES Barre Library Association, and Museum Association
Founded in 1885, the Barre Library Association (BLA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting the library. The BLA collects donations to support the library, and is a 501(c)(3) organization; therefore all donations to the association are tax deductible. Funds are used for library programming, buying materials and improving the building.
Donations may be sent to : P.O. Box 731 / Barre, MA 01005
President: Kate Lathrop
The Founders' Museum houses a unique collection of Native American artifacts, Civil War memorabilia, preserved animals and many other items. The items in the collection were donated to the Barre Library Association (BLA) over the years and are currently maintained and operated by volunteers of the Barre Museum Association.
President: Lucy Allen
The next open tour is scheduled for:
Saturday, July 13 from 10 a.m. - noon
The Museum association will make every
effort to open the museum by appointment.
Call (978) 355-2533 to inquire.
Jenna Garvey, Acting Director/Circulation Librarian
Joe Hood, Adult & Technical Services Librarian
Julia Palmer, Youth Services Librarian
Pippa Monahan, Library Assistant
Kayla Phillips, Library Assistant
Board of Library Trustees
This six-member elected board governs the library:
Lester Paquin, Chairman
Cherie Benoit, Vice Chair
Vist mytowngovernment.org for a full meeting schedule.